Different Types of FSSAI License | Know it All!
different types of fssai license

FSSAI, or Food safety and standard authority of India, is a government organisation formed under the Food Safety and Standards Act,2006 (FSS act) to impose food hygiene standards for the food business operators (FBO) across India. It is mandatory for FBO’s operating in India to obtain an FSSAI license, and a failure to do so will attract legal action or penalty. An FSSAI certification and license is essential for a food manufacturer, trader of food packages and restaurant. In the below article, we will discuss different types of FSSAI license and how to apply for the same.

The Three Types of FSSAI license:

Based on the scale of operation, there are three different types of FSSAI license, basic registration, state license and central license. Mentioned below is a brief description of FSSAI license categories :- 

FSSAI Central License

Large scale operating units usually require an FSSAI central license; this includes the 100% export oriented units, importers, FOB’s working with the central government agencies, airports and seaports etc.

FOB’s with branches in more than one state have to take a central license for their head office; another clause for getting an FSSAI central license is a turnover higher than 20 crores. The central government issues the FSSAI central license for a maximum of 5 years and a minimum of 1 year.

FSSAI State License

Businesses operating small to medium-sized manufacturing food business units, storage units, transporters, retailers, marketers, and distributors must obtain an FSSAI state license.

FOB’s with an annual turnover of 12 lakhs and above but below 20 Crores are required to get an FSSAI state license. The state government issues this FSSAI license category for the maximum duration of 5 years and a minimum duration of 1 year.

FSSAI Basic Registration

Food businesses operating on a small scale must acquire a basic registration; this includes FOB’s with small scale manufacturing, storage units, retailers, marketers, distributors etc.

Based on the scale of operation and business with a turnover of below 12 lakhs, the state government issues a registration license. The basic registration is given for a duration maximum of 5 years and a minimum of 1 year.

Bifurcation of Business as per Types of Food License in India they need to issue:- 

Category Basic License State Food License Central Food License
Business turnoverAnnual Turnover of below Rs.12 LakhAnnual Turnover 12 Lakh to 20 Crores Annual Turnover of more than 20 Crores
Production / Processing capacityDaily capacity of not more than 100 Kg/ Liter Daily capacity of 100 Kg/ liter to 2 metric tonnes Daily capacity of above 2 metric tonnes per day
Meat industry capacity per day Not more than –
2 large animals
10 small animals
50 poultry birds
Not more than –
2 and up to 50 large animals
10 and up to 150 small animals
50 to up to 1000 poultry
More than –
50 large animals
150 small animals
1000 poultry birds
Hotel NA Hotels with 4 star ratings and belowHotels with 5 star and above rating
Business with storage capacity NA up to 50000 metric tonnesmore than 50,000 metric tonnes
Business operation * Retailers with limited operations and small stalls
* Self-production units
* Business involved in social and religious gathering
* Small scale industries

* Propriety business

* Business with branches in more than one state.
* Wholesale business with annual turnover of 30 crores or more
* Food production and processing business with 100% export orientation

Why FSSAI registration is essential for the Food Business

The primary reason for acquiring an FSSAI license category is because it is mandatory under law, but there are many other added benefits of being an FSSAI accredited FOB, as mentioned below

Strict Guidelines

Unhygienic food can harm the consumer’s health, affecting the business’s reputation. FSSAI lays stringent guidelines for handling food and water and adequately sanitising FOB’s premises. When a business obtains any type of FSSAI license, they are bound to follow the rules to achieve higher standards laid by FSSAI.

Business Validation

During the registration process of an FSSAI license category, the food business has to undergo thorough testing of the food and the vicinity; hence once the business gets the licence, it acts as a stamp of trust for the clients.

Prevents Food Adulteration

Acquiring FSSAI food licensing involves chemically lab testing food for adulteration by mandated authority.

Time and again, fingers have been pointed at the food industry, accusing them of food adulteration. Acquisition of a food license acts as a sign of assurance to the clients that the food is contaminant free.

Marketing tool

Using the FSSAI logo and license number on the product packaging aids the marketing strategy of a food business. Acquiring any type of food license in India adds as a marketing highlight to the product launched and as a mark of assurance

Renewal of FSSAI License

All the different types of Fssai license comes with an expiry date, and businesses need to renew it before the expiry to avoid smooth running of day to day operations.

FSSAI license is valid for a maximum of five years only, and once the same is about to expire, a business needs to apply for a renewal at least 30 days before the expiry. 

FSSAI has a new digital platform where FOB’s can issue the new licenses. We hope the above article clarifies the importance of an FSSAI licence and procure it.

FSAAI Frequently Asked Questions

Who needs an FSSAI central license?

A food business that runs large scale manufacturing, sales, distribution, production and processing and has a turnaround of more than 20 crores per year is obligated to acquire a Central FSSAI license.

How to get FSSAI certification?

A food business operator can obtain any type of FSSAI license by submitting the form either online or offline. The FosCoS online portal enables the business to fill and submit the form, i.e. either form A (application for registration) or Form B (application for state and central license). The FOB can also register offline by submitting the form (Form A or B) to the food and safety department

How many types of FSSAI licenses are there?

Based on the scale of business, the FSSAI license can be classified into two parts the Central and the State FSSAI license. Businesses with a turnover of more than 12 lakhs but less than 20 crores should register under a state license. Those businesses with turnover above 20 crores should register under a central license. FOB’s with a turnover of less than 12 lakh can just register with FSSAI.

How much does an FSSAI license cost?

Please note FSSAI license cost differs from category to category; a detailed fee structure of license cost is mentioned in Schedule 3 of the FSS act 2006. Based on your turnover, type of business, and asset generated, FSSAI classifies the fees for the licence. 

FSSAI registration costs around 1799 INR, whereas a central FSSAI license costs 7900 INR. The state structure differs based on the business classification depending on the scale of operation. The above-given rates are not standardised and change as per scale of business. Registration for petty business is INR 100 only.

How much time will it take to get an FSSAI license?

A basic FSSAI registration takes around 7 to 10 days, whereas a state and central registration can take up to 30 working days.

What is the validity time of an FSSAI license?

An FSSAI license is valid for 1 to 5 years, depending on the duration the food business decides to operate the business. After five years, the license will expire, and the FOB’s has to apply 30 days before the license renewal.

All comments.